Inspirasyon

March 15, 2010 at 11:34 am (references) (, , )

Mondays are always extremely difficult for me, particularly the mornings.  My weekends are always so full of leisure, exploration, good company, and contentment.  When given the chance to make my dreams last just a little bit longer, it is no wonder that I feel bitter about the stark return to conformity, capitalism, and unimaginative tasks.  Some things that inspired me this weekend (that I am still holding onto, in protest of the day’s implications):

Agnès Varda (excellent French New Wave director) and her autobiographical documentary the beaches of agnes

I love Agnès Varda’s thoughtful, beautiful, and quirky (I wish I had a better to word to replace that word forever) approach to art and film.  I am not a film critic, so I won’t torture you any further with my elementary observations.  But her life and perspective are definitely inspiring to me.

Beauty Academy of Kabul

This film is about a group of hairstylists who set out to open a beauty academy in post-Taliban Kabul.  I last watched this film on the very night that I suffered a concussion, so my memory of it is fuzzy.  I rewatched it this weekend and realized that I actually have mixed feelings about the project (especially upon learning that the school has since closed), but I appreciate the sentiment and the stills of the Kabul landscape were very interesting to see. 

Maggie Mudd’s hand-stuffed vegan ice cream cake

Yes, a cake inspires me.  Maggie Mudd is an ice cream shop in San Francisco that has really delicious dairy free ice cream (my favorite is peanut butter palooka) and you may customize your own stuffed cake or order one of their combinations.

I could not find a great picture, but here are some of the descriptions.  I feel greedy and want all of them.

Fudge Cookie: Chocolate ice cream, oreo cookies, fudge swirls, cookie crust (Vegan).
Sundae Someday: chocolate ice cream, fudge swirls, marshmallow swirls, strawberry swirls, oreo cookies, cookie crust (Vegan).
Peanut Butter Flutter: Peanut butter ice cream, chocolate chips, peanut butter swirls, brownie base (Vegan)
V-Banana Split: A vegan version of our Waffle Banana Split. Vanilla, strawberry, and chocolate ice cream stuffed with fresh banana slices, cherries, fudge and marshmallow swirls, and waffle bowl pieces on graham cracker crust (Vegan).

And, finally, hip-hop dance class with Micaya at ODC Dance Commons.  I have a more traditional dance background and am therefore having a difficult time adapting to hip-hop style, but this class is fun!!  You can drop in to any class you want at ODC.  A great place.  I will be working on my “slouch” more in the future.

Play on, Monday.

1 Comment

  1. doctor documentary said,

    Nice to read about Agnès Varda, thank you.

Leave a comment